The Kayanberd fortress is located in the Lori district in between Haghpat and Sanahin villages, in the spot where the two canyons are joined right on the cape. It was built by the monastery archbishop Hovhannes in 1233. It was called Haghpat’s monastery of Soorb Nshan (Kayanberd and Dsevank names were given later). It was destroyed by Tatars in 1241. Inside the fortress, there are multiple ruins of houses, pools, and clay water-supplying pipes. The St.Astvatzatzin (Holy Virgin) church of Dsevank stands inside the fortress.